PGI User Forum
 SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist     RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Free OpenACC Webinar

PG compilation/execution problems, works fine in UNIX system
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Programming and Compiling
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jack_17

PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 3:18 pm    Post subject: PG compilation/execution problems, works fine in UNIX system Reply with quote

I am extremely new to the whole LINUX/UNIX world, and have encountered a problem with an old code. I obtained an old FORTRAN 77 code that has been in use for many years and was asked to load it on to our system at school and run some calculations. When compiling with pgf77 the code compiled just fine but would bomb out on a segmentation fault when executing (after reading in an input file and starting to step through the calculation). I ran the debugging program and found out where the problem occurred, but it seemed like everything was fine. As a hunch I moved the code over to a UNIX based system, compiled and executed ... where everything sung just nicely beginning to end.

The code uses a lot of the old "COMMON", "DATA", "DIMENSION", and "MEMORY" statements from the era prior to dynamic memory allocation, and I was wondering if there is some inherent difference between LINUX and UNIX that is screwing me up (since there were no errors on the UNIX side) ... and if so, if there is an "easy" or not so easy, but standard fix to this type of a problem. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated, sorry for not knowing more ...

~Jack Galloway
mkcolg

PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Jack,

Let try something easy first and see if your getting a stack overflow. Try setting your stack size to "unlimited". The exact syntax depends on your shell.

For Bash use "ulimit -s unlimited"
For Tcsh use "unlimit" or "limit stacksize unlimted"