PGI User Forum
 SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist     RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

CUDA-x86.

Problems on OpenMP and multi-GPU
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Programming and Compiling
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Weixiao

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:04 pm    Post subject: Problems on OpenMP and multi-GPU Reply with quote

Greetings,

I'm a researcher on molecular dynamics, and I'm trying to write a CUDA-Fortran code to get the sum of thousands of pair potentials. As the number of pairs is huge in my system, I have to use multiple GPUs. The idea is to separate the whole system into two parts. I have two GPUs in my computational node, TESLA C2070 and GT 440, and I try to make them work together by OpenMP.

Now I get an error:
0: copyout Memcpy (host=0x7f49880016c0, dev=0x200300800, size=56) FAILED: 4(unspecified launch failure)

The main program is:

Code:
!$omp parallel &
   !$omp private(iCPU, iStart, iEnd, uTot, nBlockSP, prop)
   !$omp master
   nCPUs = omp_get_num_threads()
   print*,'# of CPU(s):',nCPUs
   !$omp end master
   !$omp barrier

iCPU = omp_get_thread_num()
   istat = cudaSetDevice(iCPU)
   call iniGPU() !! copy some parameters to the device
   call uptAllHostToDev() !! copy coordinates to the device
   !$omp barrier

if(iCPU == 0)then
      iStart = 1
      iEnd = nPartA
      nBlockSP = nBlocksA
   else
      iStart = nPartA + 1
      iEnd = nPartsTot
      nBlockSP = nBlocksB
   end if

call getFullEnSP(iStart, iEnd, nBlockSP, uTot)
   print*,iCPU, uTot

istat=cudaThreadExit()
!$omp end parallel

where nBlocksA=7(on device 0: TESLA) and nBlocksB=2(on device 1 GT 440). And the subroutine 'getFullEnSP' is defined as:

Code:
subroutine getFullEnSP(iStart, iEnd, nBlockSP, uTot)

real*8 :: uTot
   integer :: nBlockSP,iStart,iEnd

integer :: iPart
   integer, device :: d_iPart, d_iStart, d_iEnd
   real*8, allocatable, dimension(:), device :: d_block