PGI User Forum
 SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist     RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

Free OpenACC Webinar

LOGICALs and GPUs
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Accelerator Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheMatt



Joined: 06 Jul 2009
Posts: 322
Location: Greenbelt, MD

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:03 am    Post subject: LOGICALs and GPUs Reply with quote

This is an odd question, but one I seem to encounter with accelerators. Namely, I sometimes get an error like (I don't have an exact wording on hand) "Accelerator restriction: invalid data type: do_aerosol" when I am compiling an accelerated region. In each case, this invalid data is a LOGICAL being used inside the loop I'm accelerating a la:
Code:
do i=1,m
 ...
 if(do_aerosol) then
  xx = a(i,k1)*b(i,k1)
 endif
 tranu(i,k1) = tranu(i,k1)+xx
 ...
enddo
or something like that. (This is not real code, just a basic type of what I see.) The line given by the compiler is centered on that if-statement.

I've found that if this is triggered, I can jury-rig around it by instead of using a LOGICAL, I define an integer, i_do_aerosol, that is 1 if do_aerosol is .TRUE. and 0 if .FALSE. inside the F77 code.

Is there a known restriction against using/sending LOGICALs with/to GPUs? Or, should I elaborate with real code?
Back to top
View user's profile
mkcolg



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 6218
Location: The Portland Group Inc.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Matt,

I sent a note to Michael Wolfe about the status of Logicals. He's traveling so it may a day of two before I hear back.

- Mat
Back to top
View user's profile
WmBruce



Joined: 18 May 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am currently using 10.8 and am having the same issue. All logicals inside accelerated regions gave the same error. Is there a fix on this now aside from changing all the variables into integers?
Back to top
View user's profile
mkcolg



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 6218
Location: The Portland Group Inc.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi WmBruce,

I must apologize since I drop the ball on this one and forgot to follow-up with Michael.

It does appear to be a bug since logical should be supported. I have submitted TPR#17184 to track this issue and hopefully we can get if fixed shortly.

- Mat
Back to top
View user's profile
xray



Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
the problem is not fixed in version 10.9. Do you have any idea when a fixed version will be available?
Sandra
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Accelerator Programming All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group