PGI User Forum
 SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist     RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

CUDA-x86.

acml

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Licenses and Installation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EBD



Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 3:28 pm    Post subject: acml Reply with quote

Hi,

Terribly sorry if this question is absolutely silly...

I was reading the ACML pdf documentation because am having trouble getting a program to compile that looks for BLAS, LAPACK, and FFT stuff.

The docuementation talks about acml installed in opt/acml3.x.x

I don't have a directory like that on my machine (linux Suse 10.0)

Is the Similarly I cant run acmlversion, or acmlinfo utilities

DOES ACML come as part of the PGI Workstation, or do I need to install seperately?

B
Back to top
View user's profile
mkcolg



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 5943
Location: The Portland Group Inc.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Buddy,

PGI just bundles the ACML libraries. The full package can be obtained direct from AMD at http://developer.amd.com/acml.aspx.

Hope this helps,
Mat
Back to top
View user's profile
EBD



Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 1:14 pm    Post subject: follow on Reply with quote

Mat,

I see form the ACML docs that you can point acml for 64 vs 32 and also for multiple processors. My machine is a 2 processor machine. In the current implementation (as you described) am I optimal for a 2 processor machine? Would I be better off with getting acml directly, or no difference.

Buddy
Back to top
View user's profile
mkcolg



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 5943
Location: The Portland Group Inc.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Buddy,

ACML does have an OpenMP version available and we've started to distribute the static library as of the 6.1 release. Simply use "-lacml_mp" instead of "-lacml". AMD calls all versions of the library "libacml" and uses different directories to distinguish between the versions. Since we use a single lib directory, we changed the name to "libacml_mp.a". We're trying to get the dynamic version as well, but naming issues has prevented this from working correctly. For now, if you need the dynamic version you'll need to download it from AMD.

Note that you must set the environment variable "NCPUS" to the number processors on your system in order to have the process execute in parallel.

Have you tried using "-Mconcur" and it's sub-options to auto-parallelize your code? It doesn't work in all cases, and can slow down some codes, but it's worth a look. Also use "-Minfo -Mneginfo=concur" to have the compiler tell you which loops it has and has not parallelized (and why it couldn't parallelize a loop). If a loop wasn't parallelized, try to determine if source code changes can enable it.

Hope this helps,
Mat
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Licenses and Installation All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group