PGI User Forum
 SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist     RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in 

CUDA-x86.

problem installation 'command not found'

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Licenses and Installation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joris



Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 12:34 pm    Post subject: problem installation 'command not found' Reply with quote

Dear all,
This must be a pretty trivial question but, i have installed the trial version of PGI6.1 and it's function under bash (as shell) but under (t)csh i cannot get pgf77 to work. I've set the environment (in my tcsh config file) as follows:

setenv PGI /usr/pgi
setenv LM_LICENSE_FILE $PGI/license.dat
set PATH = ($PGI/linux86/6.1/bin $PATH)
setenv MANPATH $PGI/linux86/6.1/man

This should do the job, or not? Anyway, if I just run pgf77 -V i get 'command not found' (even in the /bin/ dir of pgi). Anyone a solution?!
Thanks a lot in advance.
Best wishes,

Joris
Back to top
View user's profile
mkcolg



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 6141
Location: The Portland Group Inc.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2006 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Joris,

Odd. What happens if you use "setenv" instead of "set".
Code:

setenv PATH $PGI/linux86/6.1/bin:$PATH


- Mat
Back to top
View user's profile
Joris



Joined: 09 Jan 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay, i used "setenv PATH $PGI/linux86/6.1/bin" and "pgf77 -V" runs now...but it's not ideal since one looses control over the shell (cannot run 'ls' for example anymore)...and pgf77 doesn't run completely since it gives an "pgf77-Error-Required tool ld was not found" error. So by doing setenv one overtakes the shell environment and that cannot be the idea. Any idea for a solution?

Best,
Joris
Back to top
View user's profile
mkcolg



Joined: 30 Jun 2004
Posts: 6141
Location: The Portland Group Inc.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Joris,

I want to see if your PATH variable has any spaces or some other character that could be causing this. What's the output from the following?

Code:
echo \"$PGI\"
echo \"$PATH\"
setenv PATH $PGI/usr/linux86/6.1/bin:$PATH
echo \"$PATH\"


- Mat
Back to top
View user's profile
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PGI User Forum Forum Index -> Licenses and Installation All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group